YARRA VALLEY ARTS



MINUTES - ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2022

16 November 2022

YAVA Gallery & Arts Hub, Healesville

The AGM opened at 6.30 pm by David Miller with an Acknowledgement to Country. A quorum of Members was present.

ATTENDEES:

Andy Haigh, Ann Flockhart, Bev Hardidge, Caz Rogers, Cecilia Sharpley, Chris Jensen, David Miller, Denise Stevens, Elizabeth Haigh, Fredy Kocher, Gabrielle Pell, Graeme Hardidge, Jo Stone, Karen Ridley, Kate Baker, Kate Kilsby, Khoi Bui, Laura Windmill, Leigh Harry, Lynne McDowell, Margaret McLoughlin, Mary Newham, Mike Lutz, Mim Kocher, Peri Whitefield, Peter Sank, Reggie Clark, Sabina Wills, Sarah Stewart, Savaad Felich, Sharmain Lowe, Susanne Richards, Suzanne Halliday, Sylvia Miller, Ted Secombe, Wilani van Wyk-Smit.

APOLOGIES:

Diana Francis, Emily Brookfield, Denise Smith, Elizabeth Nyssen, Helen Kelly, Helen Wood, Ian George, Ivan Filsel, Jacqui McMaster, Jess Rae, John Callahan, Julie Merrigan, Kate Taylor, Lori Kravos, Lynn Baxter, Michael Anderson, Rachael Rose, Raelene Sharp, Serafina Munns.

The AGM commenced at 6.30 with David Miller welcoming everyone and acknowledging the indigenous owners of the land.

Apologies were listed and received from the floor, see above – accepted by all present.

Minutes 2021 Annual General Meeting - no comments or business arising - were confirmed by Denise Stevens and seconded by Suzanne Halliday.

President Denise Stevens presented the Annual Report which was accepted by the members present and will be available on our website in the morning.

President's Report – delivered by Denise Stevens, included highlights of the year such as the success of YAVA Out & About, continued support from Yarra Ranges Council and the Margaret Lawrence Bequest, Open Studios in March, YVA/Yering Station Sculpture Exhibition & Awards in February. YVA's strategic direction was refreshed with 2 new committees formed and staffing resources were reviewed and refocussed – for details refer to pages 8 & 9 of the Annual Report.

CEO's Report – delivered by Kate Baker included: despite economic & political uncertainty art works continue to be sold via exhibitions, our new retail space and YAVA Out & About at

select wineries. The Curatorial panel worked with Dakini Madock to deliver a strong exhibition program featuring many members. Kate also spoke about the success of the reengaging youth initiative, and presented statistics on volunteers, art sales, workshops, gallery visitations and community engagement. However, rebuilding our volunteer base is an ongoing issue. Refer to pages 12-21 of the Annual Report.

Treasurer's Report delivered by Kate Kilsby – listed a large deficit which came about as grants received could not be spent in the year they were received due to COVID and also reallocation of the major funding source as a monthly rather than a yearly amount. YAVA gallery continues to show good growth of art and retail sales and the sales from YAVA Out & About continue to gain pace. However there have been increases in rental costs and salaries which impact our bottom line.

For more details refer page 38-42 of the Annual Report

The Financial Statement for 2021-2022 had been independently checked and was presented and accepted by the members present.

ORDINARY BUSINESS

The following motions were put to the meeting:

- 1. That Membership fee is increased to \$45 accepted by Leigh Harry, seconded by Laura Windmill, carried by 75% of members present.
- 2. That the Committee consists of up to 9 ordinary members accepted by Denise Stevens, seconded by Savaad Felich, carried unanimously.

COMMITTEE ELECTION

David Miller managed the Election One nomination was received for each Executive Position therefore an election was not necessary:

Denise Stevens – President David Miller – Vice President Reggie Clark – Secretary John Callahan – Treasurer

8 nominations were received for 9 Ordinary Committee positions therefore an election was not necessary. New member Sarah Stewart introduced herself.

ORDINARY MEMBERS

Helen Wood, Jess Rae, Sarah Stewart, Savaad Felich, Serafina Munns, Suzanne Halliday, Ted Secombe, Wilani van Wyk-Smit.

All were welcomed onto the YVA Committee of 2023.

Denise thanked the retiring board members for their contribution to YVA.

The 2022 Annual General Meeting of Yarra Valley Arts closed at 7.16pm